Link to University of Ulster web site Link to TJI website Link to INCORE website

About    Search    Glossary

text size switcher
The Transitional Justice Peace Agreements Database.  
Database - Record for : Dar-Es-Salaam Declaration on Peace, Security, Democracy and Development in the Great Lakes Region
Record 355

Country :

African Great Lakes

Agreement Title/Name:
Dar-Es-Salaam Declaration on Peace, Security, Democracy and Development in the Great Lakes Region
Year :
Date Signed :

20 November 2004

Summary :

Agreed largely rhetorical commitments about regional cooperation in health, security, economics; envisages Pact on Security, Stability and Development to be adopted at a Second Summit. Govt reps only (i.e. no non-state armed groups)

Parties :
Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda, Republic of the Sudan, United Republic of Tanzania, Republic of Uganda, Republic of Zambia [i.e. 'Group of Friends']
Third Parties :
Statehood/Identity :
4. reaffirms sovereignty, non-interference, territorial integrity of party states.
Governance/Democratic Inst :
'Democracy and Good Governance' one of four declared 'priority policy options and guiding principles'
Women :
Not Applicable
Amnesty :
Not Applicable
Past Mechanism :
Not Applicable
Prisoner Release :
Not Applicable
Victims :
Not Applicable
Criminal Justice Reform :
Not Applicable
National Human Rights Inst :
Not Applicable
Human Rights Framework :
Not Applicable
Judicial Reform :
Not Applicable
Policing :
Not Applicable
Refugees/Land :
Not Applicable
Civil Society :
33. commitment to promote effection participation of the different socioeconomic actors in democracy and governance, specifically the private sector, civil society, women and youth
Dev& Socio-Economic Rights :
20. parties commit to transform to relevant intl tribunals perpetrators of genocide.
Enforcement Mechanism :
25. commit to national DDR programs and regional coordination for repatriation and resettlement components (special attention to former child soldiers and female ex-combatants)
International Community :
Regional Agmt of African Great Lakes. Witnessed by South Africa, Gabonese Republic, Republic of Malawi, Republic of Mozambique, Republic of Namibia, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Republic of Zimbabwe, UNSG, Chair of the African Union
UN Involvement :
UNSG witness to agmt
Source :

Database hosted on INCORE webservice.

Print This page